Mothering Thru Melanoma

My walk through the scary world of cancer while caring for my family.

Pumping Frenzy October 26, 2010

Filed under: Breastfeeding — mamabeaumo @ 9:36 am

Yesterday was a long day. I pumped every chance I could and ended up being able to put two bottles into the freezer towards this weekend’s stash along with the two bottles that will go to school with him today.  My goal is to have at least 7 bottles of breast milk to help get my son through the 48 hours that I will be unable to breastfeed.  If I keep up this schedule, I should have that and more!  I will have to supplement some bottles with formula but hopefully, not too many.  Anything leftover will go towards stretching breastfeeding after my surgery and before treatment begins.

Even though the doctor has said that there is no ill-effect from the melanoma on breastfeeding, I am pretty sure that the composition of my breast milk has changed.  This may also have to do with the fact that just weeks before my diagnosis, after trying many times, I finally gave up meat and starting eating more of a vegetarian diet.  My breast milk before the diet change/diagnosis tended to have a much fattier layer when stored overnight in the fridge.  Now when I prep his bottles for school, I have noticed that they tend to be more watery with just a slight fatty layer on top.  Of course, now my concern switches from whether he has been passed melanoma to, “Is he getting enough nutrition?”

I believe a call to the lactation consultant is in order!

 

One Response to “Pumping Frenzy”

  1. Roselvr Says:

    Your story brought tears to my eyes. I hope the blog gives you an outlet as you deal with this. I’m sure there is going to be lots of frustration & heart break because you have to do this. I’m sure many moms will be thankful when they find your site.
    ~Hugs


Leave a Reply

