Mothering Thru Melanoma

My walk through the scary world of cancer while caring for my family.

Growth spurt from hell!!! October 28, 2010

Filed under: Breastfeeding — mamabeaumo @ 10:20 am

Wow! And I thought I was tired yesterday!!  My little man was up more than he was asleep last night.  It didn’t seem that he could fill his little tummy up enough to actually get the rest he so needs now that he is cruising all over the place, all day long.

He had a bottle of breast milk at school at 3p. We got home and reconnected through nursing at 4:30p.  5p I began to get dinner ready so gave him some banana puffs to nosh on.  He kept signaling for more.  He also had some yogurt drops.  At 6p, we started his actual dinner…he devoured it instead of wearing it like he usually does.  6:15p we started our bedtime nursing. By 7p, he was out like a light.  Fast forward to 9p when I headed to bed…I believe my husband came to bed about 9:30p after going and settling Bubba back to sleep.  Little man then woke up again at 11:30, nursed and went back to bed by 12a.  2a he decides he is hungry again but this time he won’t go back to sleep.  Absolutely exhausted, at 2:45a, I wake my husband and ask him to take over.  Off to the kitchen I go to put a bottle of formula together in hopes that Bubba will sleep for a bit longer of  a stretch.  Of course, with everything going on, my stress level is about eleventy-hundred and steadily climbing so the tears just start to pour.  I give my husband the bottle and back to bed I go to cry myself to sleep which took some time.  4:45a my son’s melodious cry awakens me so back into his room I go.  He nursed, rotating breasts almost continuously until 6a when he finally fell back to sleep and I returned him to his crib.  Of course, now I had to get the 7 year old up and begin to get myself ready for the day.  My bed is beckoning to me as I sit at my desk in my dimly lit office watching the gray clouds slowly pass by.  8p won’t come quick enough!

 

Leave a Reply

