Mothering Thru Melanoma

My walk through the scary world of cancer while caring for my family.

Another Pump & Dump Weekend! November 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — mamabeaumo @ 9:06 am

Well, I thought I wouldn’t have to do this again but turns out I need an MRI on Saturday and they will be using gadolinium contrast.  They recommend another 48 hours of no nursing although MRISafety.com suggests the same wait period as the CT Scans which is 24 hours.  Fortunately, I still have plenty of milk frozen from last weekend.

I received the results from my CT Scans last weekend.  My head/brain scan came back clear.  There is a 7mm nodule showing in my chest scan but my doctor is not concerned with that at this time.  My liver, however, is showing something questionable and they need a better look.  Thus, the MRI.  At first they told me I would need to go head first and be in that tiny little tube for 30+ mins.  Needless to say, I completely lost it.  Hyperventilating like crazy!!  The doctor called in a prescription for Ativan to help me through it.  Now, I barely take an aspirin so the thought of taking a narcotic isn’t really appealing to me.  I decided I needed to verify some information before I started turning towards the Ativan.

After speaking with a lovely woman at the Imaging Center, I found out that I can go feet first!!  A huge weight was immediately lifted!  Now I don’t HAVE to take the Ativan but can if I so choose.  Funny how my brain focuses on the smaller things rather than the fact that all this is being done because I have cancer!  LOL  Whatever gets us through, right?

 

One Response to “Another Pump & Dump Weekend!”

  1. Roselvr Says:

    This just popped up in a facebook update from one of the cancer sites.

    “Hope for two” for women that are pregnant with cancer- you may be able to find information on it- haven’t had time to actually read it-

    http://www.pregnantwithcancer.org/

    I tried posting on the board but their filters won’t let me- tried private reply, private message- glad you have this blog- I don’t know whats so bad about this link that they wont let me give it to you.


Leave a Reply

