Mothering Thru Melanoma

My walk through the scary world of cancer while caring for my family.

Back to Work I go! November 29, 2010

Filed under: Breastfeeding — mamabeaumo @ 3:17 pm

So much to catch up on!  I am happy to report that after a couple of very iffy days, I believe my supply is returning and that I will try and continue to breastfeed until Bubba is ready to wean.  Of course, this is subject to whether or not I will need radiation, chemotherapy or immunotherapy.  We are hoping that none of that will be necessary but I am prepared to do what needs to be done.

The surgery itself went well.  I have to say, the trip to Nuclear Medicine was not my favorite!  The dye injections were incredibly painful.  I was originally told I would need any where from 4 to 8.  Thank goodness, the doctor giving the shots went with 4 as I was about to cry if I had to have even one more!

The first few days were hard.  I spent most of my time high on Percocets.  I have an 8 inch excision on my back right to the right of my left shoulder blade and then a 3 inch incision in my left armpit where they removed 4 primary nodes for testing.  It has not been fun to have only one cleanly shaven arm pit!!

I tried pumping during the first few days in hopes of keeping my supply up but it was really difficult given my ex/incisons and also sleeping most of the time.   When I did pump, I didn’t seem to produce near what I did before surgery.  I did pump today at my usual time and managed to get 6 oz. so that’s a good sign that maybe I can build my supply back up.  Of course, it’s gonna stink if I need to undergo treatment and then have to stop altogether.

I guess we’ll find out Friday whether I can let Bubba self-wean or if after trying so hard, we’ll just have to stop.

 

One Response to “Back to Work I go!”

  1. Jess Says:

    Hello!

    This is Jess that runs the Moms With Melanoma FB page. (Just left you a message there actually.) I was wondering if you had heard your results yet. I also go to MGH! I’d love to share stories. I was diagnosed a year ago and was nursing my daughter at the time. We are still nursing now. You can do it! I’m stage 3 btw so I can share more info about that journey if need be but again hoping that your lymph nodes will be clear!


Leave a Reply

