Mothering Thru Melanoma

My walk through the scary world of cancer while caring for my family.

Return to fertility! Ugh!! December 2, 2010

Filed under: Breastfeeding — mamabeaumo @ 10:42 am

Well, I knew it had to come to an end sometime…my period has returned full-force!  After two years without, due to pregnancy and breastfeeding, I am a little sad to have it come back.  I wonder if I hadn’t had to stop breastfeeding for four days after my surgery if it would have stayed away even longer?  Hopefully it’s return will not hinder my attempts to up my supply.  I had read that some women experience a dip in supply during menses.  I can’t afford that right now if I have any hope of recovering.  Bubba is so happy to be back at the breast!  He giggles and comes running when I ask if he would like to nurse…too gosh darn cute!

Now I need to figure out what I will do in terms of making sure that we don’t become pregnant again as those days have passed for me.  I had a Mirena IUC pre-Bubba and loved it but am not sure how comfortable I am about doing something like that with a medical diagnosis.  Not that I have read anything that say you shouldn’t use birth control with cancer but I am one of those “What if this caused this?” sort of people.  I have practiced Fertility Awareness since 2002 and will most likely go back to it but I really did enjoy not having a period while on the Mirena.  Ugh, decisions, decisions!

Tomorrow we head to Boston for my pathology results.  I really hope that they will tell me that my nodes are clear and they got all the bad tissue from my excision and that no further treatment is necessary.  Can it be that easy??

 

One Response to “Return to fertility! Ugh!!”

  1. Linda Says:

    Good luck for tomorrow, l hope everything goes well and it is “That Easy”


Leave a Reply

