Mothering Thru Melanoma

My walk through the scary world of cancer while caring for my family.

The End of the Pump! January 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — mamabeaumo @ 10:51 am

Well, my breast pump has officially been retired.  In hopes of avoiding engorgement next week, I am slowly dropping  one feed at a time.  The pump was the first to go.  I have gone all week without pumping and so far, I’m not in terrible pain.  I have only had one random letdown, right in the middle of lunch!  LOL  Thank goodness, I still use my breast pads.  This weekend I will only do night feedings and then Monday morning I will nurse my little one one more time.  It brings tears to my eyes just typing that.  I truly expect that it will be rough but Hubby is very good about helping out during this situations.  I hope that he will allow me to snuggle with him without getting too upset.

I think I will ask Buggy out on a dinner tonight since I may not feel up to it over the next few weeks.  I always love when we have “Date Night” even though we go to McDonald’s, Burger King or Friendly’s…not the healthiest of choices.  We have great conversations and sometimes even head to the bookstore just to look.  I will definitely need to get a Date Night in this weekend, for sure.

 

One Response to “The End of the Pump!”

  1. Linda Says:

    Hi, Good luck with the Interferon, it will be a long year for you so make sure you take pain killers when you need them and dont refuse any help from family and friends. I did the Interferon thing back in 2008-2009, l expected to spend the year in bed but it was not as bad as l thought it would be. Hopefully it will be the same for you. Its nice that you were able to go on your “Date” with your son before you start this treatment.
    GOOD LUCK,

    Linda


Leave a Reply

